Kansas Boards and Commission

Kansas Turnpike Authority

Statute:                                   K.S.A. 68-2003                                 

Governor Appoints:              2

Number of Members:            5

Length of Term:                    Four Years

Frequency of Meetings:      Once a Year

Pay/Compensation:              K.S.A. 75-3223

SSI Required:                         Yes

Senate Confirmed:                No

Website:                                 Click Here


The Kansas Turnpike Authority (KTA) oversees the development and maintenance of the Kansas Turnpike.  The KTA consists of five members, with the governor appointing two.  Governor’s appointees must be Kansas residents and owners of KTA revenue bonds.  The Secretary of Transportation, the Chairperson of the Senate Committee on Transportation, and the Chairperson of the House Committee on Transportation also serve on the board.


Statutory Requirement:                                                                           Term Expires:

Governor’s Appointee                                                                                     6/30/2021

Governor’s Appointee                                                                                     6/30/2020