The Kansas Senate Confirmation Oversight Committee Tuesday approved Jeff Zmuda to serve as Secretary of the Kansas Department of Corrections, along with other appointments to state boards and agencies.

“I appreciate the Senate committee’s action in approving Secretary Zmuda and the appointments of Kansans who are all well qualified and committed to public service,” Governor Laura Kelly said. “It’s truly an outstanding group, and I look forward to seeing the work they do in helping to move our state forward.”

Zmuda has a long record of success managing the Idaho Department of Correction and coordinating with stakeholders, including legislators, the judiciary and other county and state partners. Previously, he served as the chief of prisons in Idaho. In this role, he oversaw all aspects of prison operations for nine state-run facilities, including public safety initiatives, security protocols and practices, mental health care and treatment, education services and re-entry programs. Zmuda also has extensive experience addressing personnel and operations challenges across a correctional system.

“I am honored and humbled to be nominated by Governor Kelly and recommended by the Senate Confirmation Oversight Committee for consideration of the full Senate,” Acting Secretary Zmuda said. “Since coming to the Kansas Department of Corrections, I have found that our officers and staff are highly motivated and committed to doing what it takes to make our local communities safer places to live, work and raise our families. I look forward to working shoulder to shoulder with them to achieve the results Kansans deserve and expect.”

Additionally, the following appointments by the Governor were approved Tuesday by the Senate Confirmation Oversight Committee:

  1. David Herndon, Shawnee, Kansas Bank Commissioner
  2. Brad Stratton, Overland Park, KPERS Board of Trustees
  3. Kala Spigarelli, Pittsburg, Kansas Lottery Commission
  4. Ruth Stevenson, Olathe, Banking Board
  5. Rick Wiley, Westphalia, Public Employee Relations Board
  6. Michael Birzer, Wichita, State Board of Indigents’ Defense Services
  7. Patricia Hudgins, Manhattan, State Board of Indigents’ Defense Services
  8. Erica Andrade, Kansas City, State Board of Indigents’ Defense Services

These appointments, along with the appointments approved on July 23, 2019, (below) were approved by the Senate Confirmation Committee and will be voted on by the full Senate in the 2020 Legislative Session.


  1. Cheryl Harrison-Lee, Gardner, Kansas Board of Regents
  2. Shellaine (Shelly) Kiblinger, Cherryvale, Kansas Board of Regents
  3. Jonathan Rolph, Wichita, Kansas Board of Regents
  4. Emily Hill, Lawrence, Kansas Public Employees Retirement System Board of Trustees
  5. Earl Lewis, Topeka, director, Kansas Water Office
  6. Constance Owen, Overland Park, chair, Kansas Water Authority
  7. Joni Franklin, Wichita, Public Employee Relations Board
  8. Jonathan Gilbert, Dodge City, Public Employee Relations Board
  9. Michael Ryan, Junction City, Public Employee Relations Board
  10. Doug Jorgensen, Topeka, State Fire Marshal
  11. Kelly Kultala, Basehor, Kansas Racing and Gaming Commission
  12. Kala Loomis, Lawrence, executive director, Kansas State Gaming Agency
  13. Stephen Durrell, Lawrence, executive director, Kansas Lottery
  14. Catherine Moyer, Ulysses, Kansas Lottery Commission
  15. Kenneth (Ed) Trimmer, Winfield, Kansas Lottery Commission