Governor Laura Kelly appointed Dana Williamson, Dodge City; Jay Price, Wichita; Jean Schodorf, Wichita; Terry Marmet, Topeka; Mark Kelly, Leavenworth; Edna Wagner, Leavenworth; Mary McMurray, Prairie Village; and reappointed Dr. Gregory Schneider, Topeka; and Dr. John Hoopes, Lawrence; to the State Historical Sites Review Board.

The purpose of the board is to help the Kansas State Historical Society implement a comprehensive state-federal historic preservation program. The board is charged with evaluating properties proposed for nomination to the National Register of Historic Places and the Register of Historic Kansas Places, and with advising the State Historic Preservation Officer and staff on a variety of historic preservation-related matters.

Williamson is an architect and owner of Williamson Architecture.

Price is an architectural historian and history professor at Wichita State University.

Schodorf is the governor’s designee. She is a former member of the Kansas Senate, 25th District, and a former speech pathologist.

Marmet is an architect and the former director of operations for the Kansas Historical Foundation.

Kelly is an archeologist for the U.S. Department of Agriculture Natural Resources Conservation Service and has experience working with Native American and Tribal Historic Preservation and environmental permitting.

Wagner is the executive director of Richard Allen Cultural Center and Museum.

McMurray is the director of Johnson County Museum and previously worked with historic sites and outdoor education in Jackson County, Missouri.

Dr. Schneider is a reappointment, and the current chair of the Board. He is a history professor at Emporia State University.

Dr. Hoopes is a reappointment to the Board, and is a professor of prehistoric archeology at the University of Kansas.

“Our great state has an incredibly rich and interesting history,” Kelly said. “This work is crucial to the preservation of our state’s most remarkable historical sites, and I’m confident each of these appointments will help further the goals of the Board.”

The governor’s appointments serve three-year terms on the State Historical Sites Review Board.