Today, Governor Laura Kelly and the Court of Appeals Nominating Commission announced the applicants for the vacancy on the Court of Appeals. The deadline to apply was 3 p.m. Friday, December 10, 2021. As of that deadline, the following Kansans submitted their applications for consideration:

  • John Carpinelli, Topeka
  • Natalie Chalmers, Lenexa
  • Angela D. Coble, Salina
  • Randall L. Hodgkinson, Topeka
  • Russell J. Keller, Fairway
  • Rachel Pickering, Topeka
  • Dave J. Rempel, Overland Park
  • Kristen D. Wheeler, Wichita

The Commission will interview applicants on Wednesday, January 5, 2022 to fill the vacancy on the Kansas Court of Appeals created by the upcoming retirement of Judge Michael B. Buser.

Interviews will be in a meeting room in the Wichita U.S. Courthouse, 401 N. Market St., Wichita, and are open to the public. The interview schedule will be announced at a later date. All updates may be found here.

Governor Laura Kelly signed Executive Order 20-01 on Tuesday, January 28, 2020 establishing the Court of Appeals Nominating Commission. Under Kansas law, the Governor appoints judges to the Court of Appeals subject to confirmation by the Kansas Senate. The Commission will review each applicant’s background and qualifications, conduct interviews, and then submit three nominees for the Governor to consider.