Governor Laura Kelly Awards Nearly $2.4M for Law Enforcement and Crime Prevention

TOPEKA – Governor Laura Kelly announced today that her administration is awarding nearly $2.4 million to 27 Kansas agencies to strengthen law enforcement, prevent crime, and support crime victims.  

“I commend the men and women of Kansas who uphold our laws and keep our communities safe,” Governor Laura Kelly said. “These grants will provide our law enforcement officers and criminal justice agencies with the resources they need to fight crime and support victims.” 

This funding comes from the Federal Edward Byrne Memorial Justice Assistance Grant (JAG) Program.  

The Kansas Criminal Justice Coordinating Council (KCJCC) oversees the federal criminal justice funding made available to Kansas through the U.S. Department of Justice. The KCJCC membership is representative of the Governor, the Chief Justice of the Supreme Court, the Attorney General, the Secretary of Corrections, the Superintendent of the Kansas Highway Patrol, and the Director of the Kansas Bureau of Investigation.  

A total of $2,379,652 was awarded to 27 agencies. 

2023 Justice Assistance Grant Awards
County Organization Name Grant Award 
Butler Augusta Department of Public Safety $32,100
Coffey Coffey County Sheriff’s Office $58,000
Douglas Douglas County Sheriff’s Office $37,777
Douglas Kansas Holistic Defenders (Social Impact Fund) $56,947
Douglas The Sexual Trauma and Abuse Care Center $35,044
Ellis Northwest Kansas Community Corrections $114,045
Graham Graham County Sheriff’s Office $103,808
Gray Gray County Sheriff’s Office $214,223
Johnson Gardner Police Department $12,876
Johnson Merriam Police Department $82,500
Johnson Spring Hill Police Department $30,178
Leavenworth Basehor Police Department $83,242
Leavenworth Brothers In Blue Reentry $198,749
Lyon 5th Judicial District Community Corrections $43,212
Marshall Marysville Police Department $46,368
Meade Meade County Sheriff’s Office $80,387
Mitchell Mitchell County $64,193
Morris Council Grove Police Department $36,000
Pratt Pratt Police Department $56,940
Rush Rush County Sheriff’s Office $136,957
Saline 28th Judicial District Community Corrections $23,375
Sedgwick Park City Police Department $76,800
Shawnee Kansas Department of Corrections $117,403
Shawnee Kansas Judicial Branch $151,886
Shawnee National Alliance on Mental Illness Kansas $129,285
Wyandotte Avenue of Life $193,536
Wyandotte Village Initiative $163,821
  TOTAL $2,379,652