Governor Laura Kelly Appoints Elizabeth H. Sweeney-Reeder and Richard M. Fisher Jr. to
Fill New 6th Judicial District Court Positions

TOPEKA – Governor Laura Kelly today appointed Elizabeth H. Sweeney-Reeder of Paola and Richard M. Fisher Jr. of Osawatomie to two judgeship positions in the 6th Judicial District, which is composed of Bourbon, Linn, and Miami counties.  

Regarding Sweeney-Reeder’s appointment, Governor Laura Kelly said, “Elizabeth Sweeney-Reeder has a history of public service through her work as a prosecutor in the Miami County Attorney’s office. I am confident she will continue to serve the community with the same level of care and dedication to her new position on the 6th District Bench.” 

Sweeney-Reeder is the County Attorney for Miami County. She is active in the legal community with her membership in the Kansas County and District Attorney’s Association, Kansas Women Attorney’s Association, Miami County Bar Association, and National District Attorney’s Association. 

“I am honored to be selected as a District Judge for the Sixth Judicial District,” Sweeney-Reeder said. “I have dedicated my career to serving my community and I look forward to continuing.”   

Regarding Fisher’s appointment, Governor Laura Kelly said, “Fisher’s courtroom experience and diverse legal background make him well-prepared for this position. I know his breadth of experience in the district will serve him well in his transition to the 6th District Bench.” 

Richard Fisher Jr. is the Owner of Richard M. Fisher LLC. He is active in the legal community with his membership in the Kansas Bar Association. 

“Over the years I have devoted my legal practice to the 6th Judicial District,” Fisher said. “I am committed to providing integrity, fairness, judicial access, attention, respect and to continue the high standards that our current Judges in the 6 Judicial District exemplify.”   

District Court Judges in the 6th Judicial District are appointed by the governor and selected from nominees chosen by a district nominating commission. Judges in nominating commission districts are subject to retention elections every four years. The positions were created through 2022 House Substitute for Substitute for Senate Bill 267, the bipartisan budget plan; and Kansas Supreme Court Administrative Order 2022-JA-020. 

The other nominees selected by the district nominating commission were Jacklyn Paletta and Valorie R. Leblanc.