Governor Laura Kelly today announced that six Kansas schools have been recognized by the U.S. Department of Education as National Blue Ribbon Schools for 2020. This recognition is given to schools that meet certain criteria based on academic performance or progress in closing achievement gaps among student subgroups.

“Our state’s dedicated teachers, administrators, and staff have once again proved that Kansas is unmatched when it comes to providing a world-class education and a safe and welcoming environment for all students,” Governor Kelly said. “I want to offer my sincere congratulations to each of these districts for earning this distinguished recognition, and for their important work in closing achievement gaps for vulnerable students.” 

The following Kansas schools received recognition:

  • Bostic Traditional Magnet Elementary School, Wichita Public School District
  • Bradly Elementary School, Fort Leavenworth Unified School District 207
  • Grant F. Timmerman Elementary School, Emporia Public School District
  • Piper Elementary School, Piper-Kansas City School District
  • Prairie Creek Elementary School, Spring Hill School District
  • St. Thomas Aquinas Catholic School, Catholic Diocese of Wichita

View photographs and descriptions of all 2020 National Blue Ribbon Schools here.  

About the National Blue Ribbon Schools Program:

Up to 420 schools may be nominated for this recognition each year. The U.S. Department of Education invites National Blue Ribbon School nominations from the top education official in all states, the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico, the Virgin Islands, the Department of Defense Education Activity, and the Bureau of Indian Education. Private schools are nominated by The Council for American Private Education (CAPE). 

The 2020 National Blue Ribbon Schools Awards Ceremony will be held virtually Nov. 12 and 13. Each of the 317 public and 50 non-public school honorees will receive their plaques and flags via mail. 

Now in its 38th year, the National Blue Ribbon Schools Program has bestowed almost 10,000 awards to more than 9,000 schools, with some schools winning multiple awards. Schools are eligible for nomination after five years.