Governor Laura Kelly and Kansas Department of Transportation Secretary Julie Lorenz have announced the recipients of more than $5 million being made available statewide as part of the Kansas Local Bridge Improvement Program (KLBIP).

The KLBIP is a state-local partnership initiative that is part of the Eisenhower Transportation Legacy Program, or IKE, the 10-year transportation program approved by the 2020 Kanas Legislature and signed into law by Governor Kelly, to address infrastructure needs across the state. This year’s KLBIP selections include 27 counties and three cities who will receive a combined total of $5.1 million.

“Congratulations to the Kansas communities that submitted successful applications and for securing local matching funds for bridge projects that are critical to their community’s success,” Governor Kelly said. “Improving the overall transportation system across our state is integral to our economic recovery, and an important step forward as we work to invest in and rebuild our state’s foundation.”

KDOT reinstated this bridge program in 2019 to assist cities and counties by providing up to $150,000 toward the replacement or rehabilitation of a bridge on the local roadway system.  For this recent round of KLBIP selections, a total of 68 applications from 61 local public agencies were received with requests for $11.4 million in funds. The total value of the individual bridge replacement costs ranged from $150,000 to $2.4 million.

Gail Klaassen, Neosho County Commission Chair and whose county was a successful applicant, said the KLBIP funds will enable the replacement of a deteriorating bridge on a road seeing a growth in traffic.

“Neosho County, like the rest of Kansas, is finding it difficult to find the funds to fix the many road and bridge needs that arise,” Klaassen said. “Partnering with KDOT to complete this project is the only way Neosho County will be able to complete this project during this time of crisis. We are grateful for KDOT’s investment in Neosho County.”

“We welcome opportunities to partner with Kansas cities and counties to replace or rehabilitate deteriorating bridges,” said Secretary Julie Lorenz, Kansas Department of Transportation. “This program allows KDOT to help communities move forward with projects that keep critical local roadways open and viable.”

The KLBIP targets bridges 20-50 feet in length and with a daily vehicle count of less than 100.  Deficient structures, which are longer and deficient structures on higher volume roads, also qualify for funding under the program, but these will be limited to the same state funding amounts. There are approximately 19,000 bridges on Kansas’ local road systems. About 20 percent – or 3,800 — of those bridges are in poor condition or unable to meet today’s weight and vehicle requirements.

The list of cities and counties receiving funding is below. Those with an asterisk indicate recipients that also chose to close a second deficient bridge in order to receive an additional $50,000.

Link to map here.

Allen County
City of Arkansas City
Chautauqua County
Cheyenne County *
Cloud County
Cowley County
City of De Soto
Ellis County *
Graham County
Harper County *
Harvey County
Kingman County *
Labette County
Lincoln County *
Linn County
Marion County
McPherson County
Nemaha County
Neosho County
Ness County *
Norton County *
Ottawa County
Rooks County *
Saline County *
Scott County
Sheridan County *
Sherman County *
City of South Hutchinson
Wallace County *
Washington County