Governor Laura Kelly AnnouncesAdministration Appointments

TOPEKA – Governor Laura Kelly today announced 13 appointments to the following state society, boards, commissions, compact, and committee.

Kansas State Historical Society

Purpose: To collect, preserve, interpret and make the state’s history accessible to Kansans. 

  • Matt Chappell, Acting Director

Board of Accountancy

Purpose: To license and regulate certified public accountants (CPAs), carry out laws and administrative regulations governing CPAs and to discipline and conduct investigations. 


  • Julie Wondra, McPherson

Arkansas River Compact

Purpose: To settle existing disputes and remove causes of future controversy between the states of Colorado and Kansas concerning the waters of the Arkansas river and their control.  


  • Troy Dumler, Garden City
  • Zach Gale, Syracuse

Juvenile Justice Oversight Committee

Purpose: To oversee the implementation of reform measures intended to improve the state’s juvenile justice system. 


  • Kate Davis, Wichita 
  • Melody Pappan, Winfield 
  • Mary Snipes, Junction City

State Employee Healthcare Commission

Purpose: To set the insurance rates and structure for state employees.


  • Acting Secretary Adam Proffitt, Chairperson

Elevator Safety Advisory Board

Purpose: To advise the State Fire Marshal and make recommendations regarding rules and regulations necessary for the Elevator Act in accordance with HB 2005, which established the Elevator Safety Advisory Board.


  • Paul Parks, Overland Park 
  • Brent Snyder, Olathe 
  • Cole Haston, Lenexa 
  • Spencer Duncan, Topeka

Fire Service Training Commission
Purpose: To recommend and approve fire service training program curriculum.


  • Mark Neely, Wamego