Governor Laura Kelly today announced appointments to Kansas state boards, councils, and committees.

Athletic Trainers Council

The Council licenses and monitors athletic trainers in the state of Kansas.

  • David Fitzhugh, Hays
  • Gary Stevanus, Baldwin City

Capitol Preservation Committee

The Committee approves all proposals for renovation of all areas of the State Capitol, the Capitol’s visitor center, and the grounds surrounding the Capitol; preserves the proper décor; assures art or other artistic displays are historically accurate; and oversees the reconfiguration or redecoration of committee rooms.

  • Sharon Wenger, Topeka (reappointment)

Commission on Police Officers Standards and Training (CPOST)  

The Commission may suspend, revoke, or deny the certification of a police or law enforcement officer who fails to meet the requirements of the Kansas Law Enforcement Training Act or has met such requirements by falsifying documents or failing to disclose information required for certification. It also provides accredited instruction, which is required for permanent appointment of full-time police and law officers.

  • Brandon Johnson, Wichita

Johnson is appointed to the single public position on the commission, which, per statute, is also the Chair of CPOST.

State Library of Kansas Board

The Board promotes cooperation with the Kansas Board of Regents to ensure the inclusion of libraries on the KAN-ED network, and continues the availability of statewide library reference resources.

  • Bill Brady, Lawrence 

Washburn University Board of Regents

The Board manages property, estate and funds given, transferred and pledged to the University.

  • Craig Hulse, Shawnee