Governor Laura Kelly Announces $11M in
Transportation Investments

WICHITA – Governor Laura Kelly joined the Kansas Department of Transportation today to announce that more than $11 million will be awarded to 14 transportation construction projects as part of the Fall 2022 Cost Share Program. With these grants, more than $114 million in state funding has been invested in over 130 Kansas communities through the Cost Share program since it was founded in 2019. 

“Quality infrastructure is the foundation of strong communities, which is why my administration has invested over $114 million in our roads, trails, and bridges since the start of the Cost Share program,” Governor Kelly said. “Congratulations to each of our Cost Share awardees. Thank you for the work you do to continue building a beautiful, vibrant, and safe Kansas.”  

The Cost Share program was founded in 2019 as part of the Kelly Administration’s 10-year, bipartisan Eisenhower Legacy Transportation Program (IKE). By leveraging both state and local dollars to fund community transportation projects, Cost Share improves safety, supports job retention and growth, relieves congestion, and increases access and mobility in rural and urban areas. 

For each project, cities and counties match state funding 50/50, bringing the total investment for this Cost Share round to $22 million.  

“KDOT was impressed with how this round of Cost Share projects hit markers for economic development, safety, and community support,” said Secretary Lorenz. “Collaborating with local partners makes this program a win-win for everyone.” 

The announcement took place at the Advanced Learning Library in Wichita to celebrate nearby projects in the cities of Cheney, El Dorado, and Hutchinson. 

Fall 2022 Cost Share recipients and projects include: 

  • City of Auburn – Auburn Road and 8th Street Pedestrian Crossing Improvements – $252, 359.25 
  • City of Barnes – Barnes Street Reconstruction – $1,485,440 
  • City of Cheney – ADA Curb Ramp Installation – $91,392  
  • City of El Dorado – Central Avenue Improvements – $1,000,000 
  • City of Ellinwood – Ellinwood Tunnels Sidewalk Improvements – $212,880  
  • City of Garden City – East Side Pedestrian Pathway/Sidewalk Expansion – $1,500,000  
  • City of Hays – 13th Street Reconstruction – Hays High School to Commerce Pkwy – $1,200,000 
  • City of Holton – Banner Road Improvements – $225,720  
  • City of Hutchinson – Woodie Seat Freeway Improvement Project – $1,500,000 
  • City of Marion – Elm Street and Locus Street Improvements – $162,890  
  • City of Osawatomie – 6th Street Reconstruction – $1,500,000  
  • Prairie Band Potawatomi Nation – 158th Street Full Depth Replacement – $1,500,000 
  • Sheridan County – Sheridan Avenue Road Improvement – $500,000 
  • City of Udall- Williams Street Sidewalk Addition – $16,900 

View a map of Cost Share projects here. More information about KDOT’s Cost Share Program is on KDOT’s website at  

Photos from today’s announcement for media use can be found below.