Governor Kelly Announces More than $6.2M for Law Enforcement Safety and Security Equipment

– Governor Laura Kelly announced today that more than $6.2 million from the Local Safety and Security Equipment (LSSE) grant program was awarded to 72 Kansas law enforcement, fire, emergency medical services, and 911 communications agencies. The grant funds are received through the Strengthening People Revitalizing Kansas (SPARK) program funded by the federal American Rescue Plan (ARPA).

“It is critical that our first responders have the equipment necessary to protect and serve Kansans when an emergency arises,” Governor Laura Kelly said. “This funding will ensure agencies across the state have the resources needed to quickly and successfully deliver aid.”

The purpose of the LSSE Grant Program is to improve the accessibility and efficiency of emergency services to Kansans. The funding provides equipment upgrades critical to emergency response; supports updated interoperability communications systems; and updates and replaces unsafe, damaged wildland firefighting equipment that meets national standards.

A total of $6,208,299 was awarded to the agencies.

LSSE Grant Awards
County Organization Name Grant Award
Anderson Garnett Police Department $85,139
Atchison Atchison Fire Department $9,360
Brown Hiawatha Police Department $55,001
Butler Andover Fire and Rescue $31,050
Butler Whitewater River Consolidated Fire District $58,950
Chase Chase County Fire Department $28,800
Cherokee Baxter Springs Police Department $90,000
Cherokee Cherokee County Sheriff’s Office $163,345
Cowley Burden Police Department $29,700
Cowley Cowley County Fire District 3 $42,664
Cowley Cowley County Fire District 4 $40,500
Cowley Winfield Fire/ Emergency Medical Services $89,100
Douglas Consolidated Fire District 1 $53,505
Douglas Lawrence Douglas County Fire Medical $119,430
Ellis Ellis County $100,000
Ellis Victoria Volunteer Fire Department $22,675
Ellsworth Wilson Fire Department $19,750
Geary Grandview Plaza Fire Department $17,988
Gray Gray County Sheriff’s Office $72,000
Harvey City of North Newton $30,044
Jackson Jackson County Sheriff’s Office $309,044
Jackson Netawaka Rural Fire District 6 $63,450
Jefferson City of Valley Falls $26,550
Jefferson Jefferson County Ambulance Service $75,432
Jefferson Jefferson County Fire District 5 $51,975
Jewell Jewell County Sheriff’s Office $61,345
Kiowa Kiowa County $76,400
Labette Labette County $212,500
Labette Oswego Fire Department $42,876
Leavenworth Fairmount Township Fire Department $43,177
Leavenworth Tonganoxie Police Department $29,808
Leavenworth Tonganoxie Fire Department $29,808
Lincoln Lincoln County Sheriff’s Office $86,507
Lyon Lyon County Fire District 5 $14,713
Lyon Olpe Fire District 1 $14,558
Marion Marion County Sheriff’s Office $108,000
Marshall Marysville Police Department $62,640
Miami Miami County $24,504
Mitchell Hunter Rural Fire District $23,400
Montgomery Coffeyville Police Department $72,530
Montgomery Independence Fire/ Emergency Medical Services $43,599
Morris Council Grove Fire Department $18,083
Nemaha Nemaha County Sheriff’s Office $350,000
Ness Ness County $21,567
Ness Ness County Sheriff’s Office $36,000
Ottawa City of Minneapolis $87,273
Pawnee Larned 911 Communications $46,824
Pawnee Pawnee County Sheriff’s Office $72,000
Pottawatomie Pottawatomie County Sheriff’s Office $103,025
Pottawatomie Westmoreland Fire Department $134,550
Reno City of Pretty Prairie $40,415
Reno Hutchinson Community College Fire Science $18,810
Reno Hutchinson Fire Department $52,110
Reno South Hutchinson Fire Department $59,362
Riley Riley County Fire District 1 $15,660
Russell Lucas Rural Fire District 2 $28,788
Russell Russell Fire Department $27,000
Saline Saline County Rural Fire District 1 $22,194
Scott Scott City Police Department $72,450
Scott Scott County Emergency Medical Services $134,098
Sedgwick City of Andale $30,150
Sedgwick Clearwater Police Department $52,095
Sedgwick Sedgwick County $1,625,110
Sedgwick Wichita Fire Department $98,484
Shawnee Shawnee Heights Fire Department $24,800
Sheridan Sheridan County Rural Fire Department 1 $90,000
Stafford Stafford County $37,620
Stanton Stanton County Sheriff’s Office/Emergency Medical Services $121,950
Sumner Mulvane Department of Public Safety $80,474
Sumner Wellington Fire/EMS $17,640
Thomas Colby Fire Department $26,347
Thomas Thomas County Emergency Medical Services $31,603
  TOTAL $6,208,299