Governor Kelly Announces Funding to Support Survivors of Domestic Violence and Sexual Assault

TOPEKA – Today, Governor Laura Kelly announced more than $2 million in grant awards to improve how the state supports victims and survivors of domestic violence, sexual assault, rape, and stalking. 

These grants are provided through the Federal Services, Training, Officers, and Prosecutors Violence Against Women Act Formula Grant Program (S.T.O.P. VAWA). The grant program supports efforts to respond to crimes against women by developing, training, or expanding units of law enforcement officers, prosecutors, judges, and court personnel, specifically targeting crimes against women. 

“We must do all we can to ensure survivors of domestic violence and sexual assault have the support and resources they need to navigate their traumatic experience and demand justice,” Governor Laura Kelly said. “This funding strengthens Kansas’ victim services and legal assistance programs to advance that mission and promote coordinated community responses for victims of domestic violence, dating violence, sexual assault, rape, and stalking.”

Funds from the Federal Sexual Assault Services Program (SASP) assist programs in providing victims of sexual assault with crisis intervention and accompaniment and advocacy assistance through the medical and criminal justice processes. The funds also provide educational information to survivors of sexual assault.

Funds are available through the U.S. Department of Justice, Office on Violence Against Women. 

2023 S.T.O.P. WAWA Grant Awards
County Organization Name Grant Award
Barton Family Crisis Center $47,504
Douglas Douglas County District Attorney’s Office $68,600
Douglas Douglas County Sheriff’s Office $16,590
Douglas The Sexual Trauma and Abuse Care Center $50,444
Douglas The Willow Domestic Violence Center $46,896
Ellis Northwest Kansas Community Corrections $35,000
Ellis Options: Domestic and Sexual Violence Services $27,953
Ford Ford County Attorney’s Office $66,001
Geary Crisis Center, Junction City Domestic Violence Task Force $52,530
Harvey Harvey Co. Domestic Violence/Sexual Assault Task Force $58,519
Jackson Jackson County Sheriff’s Office $56,478
Johnson Gardner Police Department $65,723
Johnson Safehome $42,989
Lyon SOS $33,477
Riley Crisis Center, Riley Co. Domestic Violence Task Force $49,642
Sedgwick Catholic Charities, Harbor House $66,443
Sedgwick City of Wichita Police Department $148,672
Sedgwick Wichita Area Sexual Assault Center $112,243
Shawnee Kansas Bureau of Investigation $9,000
Shawnee Kansas Coalition Against Sexual & Domestic Violence $81,969
Shawnee Kansas Department of Corrections $70,000
Wyandotte Friends of Yates $47,770
Wyandotte Unified Government Legal Department $100,735
Wyandotte Unified Government District Attorney’s Office $150,130
TOTAL $1,505,308