Governor Kelly Announces
Administration Appointments

– Today, Governor Laura Kelly announced 6 appointments and 4 reappointments to the following state boards and commissions.

Board of Cosmetology
Purpose: This board is charged with regulation of the profession of cosmetology and its educational institutions.  The purpose of the board’s oversight is to protect the health and safety of the public as well as that of the licensees. This includes tanning and tattoo facilities.

  • Cathy Dinh, Lawrence

State Library Board of Kansas
Purpose: To advocate for statewide library services and resources, advice, and counsel the state librarian on policies and management, review/approve annual plans of regional systems of cooperating libraries, promote collaboration with the state Board of Regents to ensure the inclusion of libraries on the KAN-ED network, and recommend statewide priorities for interlibrary cooperation.

  • Jeff Roberson, Hutchinson

Elevator Safety Advisory Board
Purpose: To advise the State Fire Marshal and make recommendations regarding rules and regulations necessary to implement and enforce the provisions of this act. The board shall annually review any rules and regulations adopted by the state fire marshal pursuant to this act.

  • Todd Stanton, Plains

Fire Service Training Commission
Purpose:  To approve all proposals for renovation of all areas of the State Capitol, the Capitol’s visitor center and the grounds surrounding the Capitol.

  • Mark Engholm, Topeka
  • Kevin Webster, Rose Hill

State Board of Agriculture
Purpose: This board serves in an advisory capacity to the Governor and the Secretary of Agriculture to review and make recommendations on department legislative initiatives and proposed rules and regulations.

  • Bill Pracht, Westphalia (reappointment)
  • Thad Gieger, Troy (reappointment)
  • Tracy Brunner, Ramona (reappointment)
  • Michael Springer, Neodesha (reappointment)
  • Marsha Schilling, Edson