Governor Kelly Announces
Administration Appointments


TOPEKA – Governor Laura Kelly today announced eight appointments and four reappointments to the following boards, commissions, and committee. 

Education Commission of the States 
Purpose: Commissioners help guide the Education Commission of the States’ work and their respective state’s education agendas.

  • Melissa Rooker, Topeka

State Library of Kansas Board
Purpose: Advocates for statewide library services and resources, advises and counsels the state librarian on policies and management, and reviews and approves annual plans of regional systems of cooperating libraries. The Board also promotes collaboration with the Kansas Board of Regents to ensure the inclusion of libraries on the KAN-ED network and recommends statewide priorities for interlibrary cooperation.

  • Jeanette Parker, Wichita

Workers’ Compensation and Employment Security Boards Nominating Committee
Purpose: Reviews and nominates candidates for the Employment Security Board of Review and administrative law judge vacancies.

  • Patrick Salmans, Park City

Board of Veterinary Examiners 
Purpose: Promotes the health, safety, and welfare by examining and licensing applicants for veterinary medicine.

  • Dr. Stacy Rogers, Scott City
  • Joe Allen, Salina (reappointment)
  • Dr. Elizabeth Covington, Kingman (reappointment)
  • Dr. Mary Flowers, Chanute (reappointment)

Physician Assistant Council
Purpose: Advises Healing Arts Board regarding issues involving physician assistants.

  • Dr. Amy Fitzgerald, Manhattan

Pet Animal Advisory Board 
Purpose: Makes recommendations concerning the rules and regulations for the Kansas Pet Animal Act.

  • Dr. Ron Orchard, Manhattan

Commission on Emergency Planning and Response 
Purpose: Facilitates a coordinated effort to mitigate, prepare, respond, and recover from emergencies and disasters in Kansas.

  • Robert Bieniecki, Tonganoxie
  • Jenny Niblock, Colby
  • Martha Gabehart, Topeka (reappointment)