Governor Laura Kelly appointed Thomas Hongslo and Donald Scheibler to the Kansas Commission on Peace Officers’ Standards and Training (CPOST).

“Making sure that all of Kansas’ police and law enforcement officers are properly trained is imperative to the safety of every person in our state,” Kelly said. “We are lucky to have Thomas and Donald join our team. I know they will work hard to make sure every Kansas officer receives the training they need to best serve our communities.”

Thomas Hongslo, Lenexa, currently works as the Lenexa chief of police.

Donald Scheibler, Hays, currently works as the Hays chief of police.

The commission ensures that police or law enforcement officers in Kansas have met all requirements of the Kansas Law Enforcement Training Act. It may suspend, revoke or deny the certification of officers who fail to meet the requirements, or has met the requirements by falsifying documents or failing to disclose information required for certification. CPOST also provides accredited instruction, which is required for the permanent appointment of full-time police and law officers.

The governor appoints 10 of the commission’s 12 members. The final two seats are filled by the superintendent of the Kansas Highway Patrol and the director of the Kansas Bureau of Investigation.