Governor Laura Kelly appointed six members to the 911 Coordinating Council.

The council monitors the delivery of 911 services in Kansas, develops strategies for future enhancements to the 911 system and distributes available grant funds to Public Safety Answering Points (PSAP).

“Each and every Kansan deserves exceptional 911 services when they need emergency help. It is imperative to their health and safety,” Kelly said. “We need to continue working every day on ways we can improve our 911 system, and I know these dedicated individuals are ready to take on that responsibility.”

The appointed council members are as follows:

1. Joshua Michaelis, Lyons – reappointment
2. Jonathan York, Topeka – reappointment
3. Jerry Harrison, Independence – reappointment
4. Ellen Wernicke, Gardner – reappointment
5. Terry Clark, Holton
6. Elizabeth Phillips, Lawrence

The council consists of 28 total members. The governor appoints 13 voting and nine nonvoting members. The remaining seats are appointed by various authorities.