Governor Laura Kelly appointed Rhoda MacLaughlin-Ramirez, Leslie Weishaar, Susan Moyer and Tom Taylor to the State Library of Kansas Board.

The mission of the board is to advocate for statewide library services and resources, and to encourage cooperation among libraries and promote and encourage innovative library services. The board promotes cooperation with the Kansas Board of Regents to ensure the inclusion of libraries on the KAN-ED network and continues the availability of statewide library reference resources.

“Libraries continue to be an important part of our communities,” Kelly said. “These appointees, with over 100 years of combined library experience, will be valuable additions to the board.”

MacLaughlin-Ramirez, Arkansas City, has over 30 years of library experience and currently serves on her local school board, USD 470. She is the current director of library services at Cowley County Community College.

Weishaar, Topeka, works as a library media specialist at Shawnee Heights High School, and has been a public-school librarian for 22 years in Kansas. She is the department head for district libraries.

Moyer, Junction City, is the current director at Dorothy Bramlage Public Library, and has 40 years of library experience. She spent six years at the Texas State Capitol Legislative Reference Library, and five years at the University of Texas Library. Moyer also served on the Junction City Board of Zoning Appeals and the Geary County Solid Waste Commission.

Taylor, Wichita, has been the director of the Andover Public Library since 2013. He previously worked as the library supervisor at Newton Public Library and as a library aide in Florida. Taylor also worked as a continuing education coordinator for the South-Central Kansas Library System.

The governor’s appointments are not subject to confirmation by the Kansas Senate.