Governor Laura Kelly appointed Pat Colloton, Mark Dupree, Jermaine Wilson, and Jessica Glendening to the Kansas Sentencing Commission, and reappointed Shelly Williams to the Commission and Judge Lee Fowler as Chair of the Commission.

The purpose of the Commission is to maintain an effective, fair and efficient sentencing system for the state of Kansas. Members are to develop a sentencing guideline model or grid based on fairness and equity, and shall provide a mechanism for linking justice and corrections policies. They advise and consult with the Secretary of Corrections on various issues and consult and advise the Legislature on implementation management, monitoring, maintenance and operations of the sentencing guidelines system.

“The members of the Commission have a great responsibility in ensuring the fairness of our sentencing system in Kansas,” Kelly said. “I have no doubt these appointees will serve honorably.”

Colloton, Leawood, was appointed as a public member to the Commission.

Dupree, Kansas City, will fill the county or district attorney position.

Wilson, Leavenworth, was appointed as a public member to the Commission.

Glendening, Lawrence, was appointed to the public defender seat on the Commission.

Williams, Manhattan, was reappointed to the community corrections seat on the Commission.

Judge Fowler, Emporia, was reappointed as Chair.