Governor Laura Kelly appointed Dr. Swapan Saha, Lenexa, to the Council of State Governments Midwest Radioactive Materials Transportation Committee.  

“Ensuring the safe transport of hazardous materials is important for all travelers in the Midwest,” Kelly said. “Dr. Saha has experience with safely handling hazardous materials at the Kansas emergency management division, and I know his knowledge will be an asset to the committee.”  

Saha currently serves as the Hazardous Materials Emergency Preparedness Grant Manager and environmental scientist for the Kansas Division of Emergency Management. He attended the University of Kansas.  

The Midwest Radioactive Materials Transportation Committee, organized in 1989, brings Midwestern states together to identify, prioritize, and work with the U.S. Department of Energy to resolve regional issues related to the department’s transport of radioactive waste and materials, including spent nuclear fuel. Members of the committee represent the 12 Midwestern states, which includes: Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Nebraska, North Dakota, Ohio, South Dakota, and Wisconsin.  

Each state included in the committee has an executive agency member that is appointed by the members of the Midwestern Governors Association. The remaining seats are held by state legislators from the region, who are appointed by the chair of CSG’s Midwestern Legislative Conference.