Kansas Governor Sam Brownback today announced recent appointments to boards and commissions.

“I’d like to thank these Kansans for the time they spend working together and sharing their expertise with one another,” said Governor Brownback. “Their contributions benefit our state and its residents.”

The Governor’s Office is always looking for qualified, interested Kansans to serve the state on commissions and boards in their areas of expertise.  If you are interested in serving on a commission or board, please visit http://governor.ks.gov/serving-kansans/office-of-appointments.

Kansas Dental Board
The Kansas Dental Board adopts rules, issues licenses, and conducts hearings to revoke or suspend licenses. The board comprises nine members: six licensed and qualified resident dentists, two licensed and qualified resident dental hygienists, and one representative from the general public. Members of the board are appointed by the governor to four-year terms.

  • James Kilmartin, Shawnee, is being appointed to serve a four year term. Kilmartin earned his bachelor’s degree at C.W. Post College and his master’s degree at Baker University. He currently is the Administrative Director for safety, risk management and regulatory affairs at Stormont-Vail HealthCare in Topeka.


  • Donna Thomas, Mission Hills, is being reappointed to serve a four-year term. Dr. Thomas earned her master’s degree at the University of Nebraska Medical Center and her doctorate at the University of Missouri Kansas City. She currently practices pediatric dentistry in Leawood, Lee’s Summit and North Kansas City. Thomas also serves as an assistant professor in the Department of Pediatric Dentistry at UMKC.

Kansas State Fair Board                                                                                       The Kansas State Fair Board aims to ensure that the annual state fair is presented in a comprehensive format and satisfies the needs and desires of people from all walks of Kansas life. The board has 13 members who serve three-year terms. Nine members are appointed by the governor.

Harmon Bliss, Jetmore, is being reappointed to serve a three-year term. He earned both his bachelor’s degree and his master’s degree at Kansas State University. He currently is an Agricultural Education instructor at Hodgeman County High School, as well as a member of Hodgeman County Foundation Board.