WHEREAS, the Director of the Kansas Water Office has informed me, pursuant to K.S.A. 74-2608(d), of the drought conditions within the state; and

WHEREAS, the drought conditions across the state have changed; and

WHEREAS, the Kansas Emergency Management Act (K.S.A. 48-924 et seq.) states that the Governor shall be responsible for meeting the dangers to the state and its people from disasters, including drought; and

WHEREAS, the county drought stages of Executive Order 18-17 are no longer appropriate; and

WHEREAS, conditions due to drought remain that need mitigation.

NOW, THEREFORE, pursuant to the authority vested in me as Governor of the State of Kansas, I hereby:

  1. Declare a Drought Watch, Drought Warning, or Drought Emergency for the counties below; and
  2. Authorize and direct all agencies under the jurisdiction of the Governor to implement the appropriate Watch, Warning, or Emergency level drought response actions assigned to them in the Operations Plan of the Governor’s Drought Response Team.

Drought Watch counties: Allen, Chautauqua, Elk, Wilson, Woodson

Drought Emergency counties: Anderson, Atchison, Bourbon, Brown, Butler, Chase, Cherokee, Clay, Coffey, Cowley, Crawford, Dickinson, Doniphan, Douglas, Ellsworth,  Franklin, Geary, Greenwood,  Harper, Harvey, Jackson, Jefferson, Johnson, Kingman, Labette,  Leavenworth, Lincoln, Linn, Lyon, Marion, Marshall, McPherson, Miami, Montgomery, Morris, Nemaha, Neosho, Osage, Ottawa, Pottawatomie, Reno, Rice, Riley, Saline, Sedgwick, Shawnee, Sumner, Wabaunsee, Washington, Wyandotte

County drought stages declared in the Executive Order shall remain in effect until revised or rescinded by a subsequent Executive Order.

This document shall be filed with the Secretary of State as Executive Order 18-18 and shall become effective immediately.